Learning to Learn.

Posted on Updated on

Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?
The question is, yet again about learning a skill. The answer simply is that it depends on the skill itself, swimming was one thing I started to learn as a child from my father, he gave me the demonstration, explained how to do it and also asked me to give it a shot in the pool but nothing made me learn that thing even after months and months of practice, though I didn’t read anything about it at that time and I am not even sure if it would have been an interesting read. 😉Young Girl Swimming with Water Wings
Moving on to the skill of my major subject it is something that I can only learn after all the above given methods have been properly implied, but in a different order, first description, second reading, third demonstration and the last one is to do it myself.
But learning also depends on how good the teacher is and how much interest I have in the subject, because I never learned to stitch even after a lot of practice, nor was I able to learn to swim, not that I care much about stitching though.. 😀

9 thoughts on “Learning to Learn.

    […] Learning to Learn. « ayimas […]

    sha'tashari said:
    10/02/2013 at 10:49 pm

    If learning was simple, we’d all do it. 🙂 I agree with the need for more than one techniques.

    […] Learning to Learn. « ayimas […]

    […] 9. Prestidigitation | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes. 10. Teachable Moments « Q the Adult 11. Learning to Learn. « ayimas 12. Teachable Moment « Now Writing Every Day 13. Teachable Moment | Liquid Matthew’s […]

    […] Learning to Learn. « ayimas […]

    http://bing.com said:
    15/02/2013 at 5:00 pm

    Seems like u know a great deal related to this particular topic and it all exhibits
    via this article, called “Learning to Learn. ayimas”.
    Regards ,Harvey

    http://adrianart.com/ said:
    08/03/2013 at 2:57 pm

    I really would like to bookmark this specific article,
    “Learning to Learn. | ayimas” on my own web page. Would you care in the event I reallydo?
    Regards ,Sherita

Leave a Reply

